Mission Statement

The object of New Marske Harriers is the promotion of community participation in healthy recreation for the benefit of the inhabitants of Redcar and Cleveland and it's neighbouring Boroughs by the provision of facilities for athletics. Registered Charity Number 1168578

Commondale Clart 26/02/12


Picture Courtesy David Kirk

As some of the club headed down to Pocklington for the Snake Lane, others headed out to Commondale for the 8.7K Clart.  By all accounts there was plenty of mud, but looking at the photos the weather looked fairly reasonable.  At the front of the women's race there was another tussle between Nicola Kent of Loftus and Kay Neesam.  Nicola managed to pull away in the later stages of the race to win by 30 seconds. Shelli Gordon finished 4th women with Anne Guthrie in 43rd.  Mike Smith came home in 15th, 4th M40, Steve Guest 29th, David Heath 72nd, Mick McGurk 97th,  Ronnie Sherwood 109th, 1st M70, Phil Miles 117th, Martin White 128th, Colin Scollay 148th and Jeff Moulder 149th. 

Results  Photos

Danby Beacon Fell Race 12/02/12




A new start point for The Beacon Race this year at Danby Lodge Visitor Centre. The route remained much the same to previous years just with a new wider uphill start and finish from the Visitor Centre.  Most of the snow had disappeared, but some icy stretches remained and many runners had the odd fall two. Cameron Taylor from Esk Valley continued his good form to claim a 7 second victory. Mike Smith had a good run to finish 10th, 2nd V40 and win 2 bottles of wine.   Caroline Lambert from Wetherby AC won the ladies race with a battle between Kay Neesam and Nicola Kent of Loftus for 2nd and 3rd.   Nicola managed to overhaul Kay in the final quarter of the race to come 2nd. Steve Guest came home 1 second behind Kay in 33rd, David Heath 80th, Mick McGurk 87th and Phil Miles 99th, 1st M70 (more wine).  With Kay and Mike absent from the presentation the Aspin garage is again stocked up with wine!

This race involves crossing a beck twice and depending on the conditions and route choice can provide and interesting spectacle.   Not as much water this year but watch the video to see a few refusals and splashes at the water jump!

Results  Photos

Danby Beacon 12/02/12

Clay Bank East 15/01/12

Despite clashing with the Acklam Cross Country, there was another record turnout with 170 runners.  The conditions were reportedly excellent apart from a few icy places.   New Marske had 9 runners out, Mike Smith first back in 25th (3rd M40).  Kay Neesam was next home in a strong Ladies race, 51st overall, 5th Lady and 1st F40. Shelli Gordon was next lady home.  Colin Scollay must have been pleased with his finish keeping a number of runners at bay.

Don't forget the change of venue at The Danby Beacon... The National Park Centre car park at Danby on the 12th February.


Captain Cook's Fell Race  01/01/12


A record entry of over 300 runners, including juniors, braved the rainstorm that arrived 5 minutes before the start of the race. Shelli and Kay were braving the New Years Day dip, so it was left to Kath Aspin, Sharon Bulman and Ann Guthrie to bring the ladies team home in a creditable 4th out of 12 ladies teams.   The men's team came home 13th out of 19 teams with Mike Smith in 25th leading the way.  In the junior races,  Tim Hunter and Izzy Pearse won the U16's races, Sarah McGough won the U12 race, and there were also good runs from Thomas Aspin, Rebecca Aspin, Katie Thornton, Natasha Thornton and John Hunter. 

No data available.

Results  Photos Junior Results

Page 7 of 14

Go to top