Mission Statement

The object of New Marske Harriers is the promotion of community participation in healthy recreation for the benefit of the inhabitants of Redcar and Cleveland and it's neighbouring Boroughs by the provision of facilities for athletics. Registered Charity Number 1168578

Commondale Clart Fell Race - 17/02/13

commondale clart



An interesting race with fantastic weather for this time of year. Despite two other local  events nearly 130 runners turned up to contest the 'Clart.' The course had dried out a lot in the last few days to regain it's clart status, otherwise it would have been wading in your wellies.  Kay Neesam, following her good run in the Relays the day before, took her chance to take the lead and win after the leading group took a wrong turn.  Lisa Bennett has another good run in her second fell race to come third (1st v40) and along with Kay and Helen Whitney won the ladies team prize. Ben Thompson also in his second fell race cam home a creditalble 33rd as he adapts to this form of racing.  Ronnie Sherwood was 1st v70, Sue Rowell 2nd female open,  Phil Miles 2nd v70 and Fiona Shovlin 3rd female open. Good to see so many new runners out representing New Marske this year.



Fell Runners Wobble in the Woods - 03/02/13


It was a day that appeared very wintery with snow, ice and cold winds but most runners came in at the finish claiming to be warm and some overheated!   After a gentle start the runners had a 320m climb that took them from the base of Broughton Woods to the summit close to Wain Stones. Having thought the hardest bit was over, they then had to contend with knee deep snow drifts and muddy bridleways.  In the men’s race, Ewan Brown won after a battle with Jayson Cavill with Will Horlsey in third.  Ben Thompson was the first  male Harrier back, coming a superb 48th in his debut fell race. The ladies race was dominated by New Marske Harriers with Kay Neesam, Shelli Gordon and Kath Aspin gaining a 1, 2, 3 to claim the team prize.   In the junior fell races there were wins for Sam Garratt, Thomas Aspin & Katie Thornton all of New Marske Harriers. 



Results   Photos

Guisborough Woods Fell Race - 27/12/12


Due to felling on the traditional route the 3 lap race was replaced with a 2 lap race with the 2nd lap going out to the moors and Highcliff Nab.   This route favoured the road running with more tarmac and less technical descending.  Jim Bulman, after having decided to run 40 minutes before the race, was 2nd up the quarry hill on the first lap following Lee Grant from Teesside Triathlon.  As the lap progressed Jim took a narrow lead over Paul Butler of Loftus with Lee in third.  Jim managed to hold on this narrow lead to win the race and in doing so clinching the New Marske Harriers 2012 Fell Race Championship.   In the Ladies race New Marske had 3 in the top six with Kay Neesam 2nd, Shelli Gordon 5th and Kath Aspin 6th. Despite this strong result they were beaten in to 2nd place in the team competition by Loftus who had Catherine Williamson 1st, Nicola Kent 3rd and Angharad Owen 4th.  There were also some good runs from the juniors including,  Archie Lowe, Thomas Aspin, Rebecca Aspin, Betty Bergstrand, Ben Bergstrand, Josh Noble  and Sam Garratt. Next race is the Captain Cook’s race on New Year’s Day.

Results   Photos


Roseberry Topping Fell Race – 12/09/12



On a slippery night following earlier down pours the juniors dominated proceedings. Jack Willis, a previous winner 2 years ago when he was 13, came back to claim another clear victory.   New Marske’s Sam Garratt (M16) had an excellent run to finish 3rd with Aidan Rigby (M14) coming home 15th. In the ladies race, Kay Neesam came home 3rd, beaten by Bronwen Owen (M16) and Emma Clapton (F14) from Scarborough.


This race was the final counter in the NEHRA summer series with Kay Neesam claiming both the Overall Women and V45 win. Shelli Gordon was 3rd overall and 1st open lady. Along with Kath Aspin and Sharon Bulman the ladies claimed the series team win for New Marske. David Heath was 4th overall in the V40 category, Mick McGurk 4th in the v55, Colin Scollay 4th v60, Ronnie Sherwood 1st v70 and Phil Miles 2nd v70.

The video is well worth watching to see the different downhill styles and to see the dive worthy of Tom Daley at about 7:30mins!

Results   Photos  Series Poisitions  Team Positions



Castleton 10K - 08/09/12

NYMAC 25aeP1850463

Not content with a 1,2,3 at the Autumn 5K, New Marske Ladies went one better in the Castleton 10K with Kay Neesam, Kath Aspin, Sharon Bulman and Shelli Gordon coming home 1,2,3,4.  It was more like beach weather at Castleton with far from ideal running conditions on a tough and demanding course with a slight breeze.  Jim Bulman went out strong and had a good lead by the time he hit the cross roads at the top of the first hill with the field already well spread.  Jim continued to dominate and was a clear winner.   With the junior fell race now being part of the NEHRA junior series, there was a good turnout especially from New Marske. Thomas Aspin was the best placed harrier in 4th with Evie Montague close behind in 5th.  There was also some good results in the field events with Katie Thornton storming ahead to win the sack race, not sure we have a club award for this event!

Results Photos    Video Part 2(+juniors)

Page 4 of 14

Go to top